Guangzhou Metro (广州地铁)

Information on this page will progressively be improved. Thank you for your patience.

The Guangzhou Metro serves the city of Guangzhou (Canton), capital of Guangdong province, in southern China.

Jump to: Lines / History

Fares: Minimum fare ¥ 2.—; distance-based fare system in use.
This system supports the Lingnan Pass smartcard (including the former Yang Cheng Tong cards); rides with this smartcard are at least 5% cheaper. This includes Lingnan Passes bought in Singapore.


Current lines in service:

  • Line 1: Xilang – Guangzhou East (Guangzhoudong) Railway Station
  • Line 2: Jiahewanggang – Guangzhou South (Guangzhounan) Railway Station
  • Line 3: Tianhe Coach Station – Panyu Square and also Airport South – Tiyu Xilu (Tiyu West Road)
  • Line 4: Jinzhou – Huangcun
  • Line 5: Jiaokou – Wenchong
  • Line 6: Xunfenggang – Changban
  • Line 8: Wanshengwei – Fenghuang Xincun
  • Guangfo Line: Kuiqi Road – Xilang
  • Guangzhou APM: Canton Tower – Linhexi (Linhe West)


The current network is undergoing a massive expansion. In addition to extending Lines 3, 4, 6, and 8, as well as the Guangfo Line, all-new Lines 7, 9, 11, 13, 14, and 21 are planned for completion before 2018. A ring line will form part of the new, expanded network — this will be Line 11.

  • Line 3: Gaozeng and Airport South – Airport North
  • Line 4: Jinzhou – Nansha Coach Station
  • Line 6: Changban – Xiangxue
  • Line 7: Guangzhou South (Guangzhounan) Railway Station – Higher Education Mega Centre South
  • Line 8: Fenghuang Xincun – Culture (Wenhua) Park – Baiyun Lake
  • Line 9: Fei’eling – Gaozeng
  • Line 11: City loop via Yuancun, Guangzhou Railway Station, and Tianhe Park
  • Line 13: Xiangjinling – Yuzhu
  • Line 14: Jiahewanggang – Jiekou plus Xinhe – Zhenlong branch
  • Line 21: Tianhe Park – Zengcheng Square
  • Guangfo Line: Xilang – Yan’gang – Lijiao and Kuiqi Road – New City East (Xincheng Dong)


Guangzhou’s network was planned as early on as 1958. This happening during the Cold War, prevention from enemies was first; at a later stage, it might be converted to a city metro. Initial plans surfaced around mid-1964, although the first metro in earnest did not get built until after the after Deng Xiaoping’s reforms.

1984 marked the time a real city metro, aimed mainly at serving residents, was considered. The Pearl River Tunnel was seen as a test experiment. Following approval, works on Line 1 begun in earnest in late 1993. The first part of Line 1 was completed from Xilang to Huangsha on 28 June 1997, with the entire Line 1 ready and opened by 28 June 1999.

What started out life as Line 2 was later split between the current Line 2 and the present-day Line 8. Works on this former “entire” Line 2 began in late 1998. This line as it was then built was completed by 29 December 2002, when it opened to the public. On 25 September 2010, Line 2 was rerouted; the former part of Line 2, which ran from Xiaogang to Wanshengwei, became part of Line 8, with the rest of Line 2 extended from Jiahewanggang via Sanyuanli and Jiangnanxi (JIangnan West) to Guangzhou South (Guangzhounan) Railway Station. A new station, Changgang, was built as an interchange between Lines 2 and 8. Line 8, in the meantime, used a new stretch from Fenghuang Xincun to the Changgang interchange.

2005 saw the opening of Lines 3 and 4, although Line 3 back then only ran between Guangzhou East (Guangzhoudong) Railway Station and Kecun. On 30 December 2006, Line 3 was readjusted, after a 40-day pause, to run a new route, most of which represent its pre-2010 extension. There would be two routes: Tianhe Coach Station – Panyu Square, and Guangzhou East Railway Station – Tiyu Xilu (Tiyu West Road). Passengers needed to change between the two routes at Tiyu Xilu station. The final extension north was opened on 30 October 2010 to Airport South, although putting the northern extension mostly underground meant extra costs that made the formerly-planned express service to the airport unrealised. In the meantime, Line 4 first entered into service from Pazhou to Wanshengwei — with an unusually long wait of 32 minutes per train (due to a shortage of rolling stock). An extension further south to Huangge was opened on 30 December 2006, with another extension opened on 28 June 2007 through to Jinzhou. The final extension, this time north to Chebei’nan (Chebei South), was opened on 28 December 2009.

Line 5 opened from Jiaokou to Wenchong on 28 December 2009. On 03 November 2010, the Guangfo (Guangzhou-Foshan) Line opened from Kuiqi Road in Foshan to Xilang in Guangzhou. Five days later, the Guangzhou APM opened with most stations open — all stations opened by 24 December 2011.

The network is still undergoing major expansion. The ultimate goal is for a 21-line metro network (plus the Guangzhou APM) to form a 909 km (568 mile) network by 2040.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.