Wuxi Metro (无锡地铁)

Information on this page will progressively be improved. Thank you for your patience.

The Wuxi Metro serves the city of Wuxi in the province of Jiangsu, eastern China.

Jump to: Lines / History

Fares: Minimum fare ¥ 2.— (for first 5 km); extra ¥ 1.— per every additional 5 km or more (discounts available for longer-distance travel)
Wuxi uses the Wuxi Citizen Card.


Current lines in service:

  • Line 1: Yanqiao – Changguagnxi
  • Line 2: Meiyuan Kayuan Temple – Wuxi East Railway Station


Line 1 is expected to be extended further south, a new station on Line 2 is expected to open beyond the East Railway Station, and Lines 3 and 4 are expected to be new additions to the network.

Opening by 2018

  • Line 1: Changguangxi – Nanquan
  • Line 2: Wuxi East Railway Station – Anzhen
  • Line 3: Sumiao – Su’nan Shuofang International AIrport
  • Line 4: Lliutan – Wudu Road


The city of Wuxi first planned its metro system in 2002, and early collaborations in May 2004 involved firms from Japan. Wuxi’s first metro plans date back to October 2005, with the city authorities approving such plans in June 2006. This was later approved by the Jiangsu provincial authorities a month later before being sent to the central government in December 2006. A series of revisions resulted in a March 2008 report submitted again to the National Reform and Development Committee of the central government. Wuxi’s metro plan obtained the final OK in late 2008, with final approval in November 2008.

Within a year, works on Metro Line 1 got underway in November 2009. In early 2011, works also broke ground on the city’s Line 2. Line 1 opened on 01 July 2014, and Line 2 services were inaugurated on 28 December 2014.

Line 3 will start works in the first half of 2016, and works on Line 4 will get underway in 2017. The Wuxi Metro is planned to be a 208 km network comprising of 7 lines, with around half the network underground, and the rest above-ground. The network is also expected to be connected to nearby city metro networks in Jiangyin, Yixing, Suzhou, and Changzhou.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.